‘The Waste’ has been common land for more than a thousand years, traditionally used for rough grazing and by drovers on their way to market. The manor of Barnes, or Barn-elms, was given to the canons of St Paul’s in 925 by King Athelstan. The boundary was fixed in the 1590’s following clashes with Putney residents over grazing rights.
It is fascinating to see that older maps show the area to almost devoid of trees with considerably more wetland than today, whilst Vine Road and much of the surrounding area was laid to market garden and orchard. This land holds many secrets. We are always keen to hear from anyone with any stories, or interest in helping with our archive. Popular History walks with our Chairman Mike Hildesley are held three times a year, and afford fascinating insight into those who have trodden these paths before us. Please check the calendar for details.